Innovation and Relations Management

Greetings from the President

Dear alumna, dear alumnus,

it's wonderful that you have found your way back to the KIT alumni network. You have probably studied, researched, taught or worked with us. Your alma mater is called the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) - at your "active" time you may even have attended the University of Karlsruhe or maybe even the Technical University Fridericiana.

Our history is shaped by change while maintaining consistency and by our striving for quality, relevance and excellence - in everything we do. As the research university in the Helmholtz Association, we place our scientific focus on the pressing questions of our society and the future.

You, dear alumnae and alumni, have been with us in all of our activities for decades and have significantly influenced and shaped them. Your professional expertise, your curiosity, your passion and your commitment have brought us forward. Without you, KIT would not be what it is today.

Even after your official time at KIT, it is particularly important to us to keep in touch with you. No matter where you live - whether in the Karlsruhe region, in Germany or abroad - you are still part of the "KIT family". The qualification you acquired at KIT or its predecessor institutions helped shape your professional path. What connects you as an alumni is looking back at similar or even shared experiences.

Today, as former students, you build bridges and close gaps: between science and business, between professional practice and theory, between your center of life and the campus and - to put it simply - between people.

The next generation may also benefit from you: pass on your experience and knowledge to today's students, support doctoral students as mentors, pass on your specialist expertise as KIT Industry Experts or bring alumnae and alumni together at your location. Take advantage of the many offers of the alumni network and become part of a large and strong community.

Keep in touch with us and help shape your alma mater.

We look forward to having you on board!

Your

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Holger Hanselka

President of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Portrait Hanselka

Innovations- und Relationsmanagement

Grußwort des Präsidenten

Liebe Alumna, lieber Alumnus,

schön, dass Sie den Weg auf die Seiten des Alumni-Netzwerks des KIT gefunden haben. Vermutlich haben Sie bei uns studiert, geforscht, gelehrt oder gearbeitet. Ihre Alma Mater heißt Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) – zu Ihrer „aktiven“ Zeit evtl. noch Universität Karlsruhe oder vielleicht sogar Technische Hochschule Fridericiana.

Unsere Geschichte ist geprägt vom Wandel bei gleichzeitiger Beständigkeit und dem uns auszeichnenden Streben nach Qualität, Relevanz und Exzellenz – in allem, was wir tun. Als die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft richten wir unseren wissenschaftlichen Fokus auf die drängenden Fragen unserer Gesellschaft und Zukunft.

Sie, liebe Alumnae und Alumni, begleiten uns seit Jahrzehnten bei allen unseren Aktivitäten und haben diese maßgeblich beeinflusst und geprägt. Ihre fachliche Expertise, Ihre Neugier, Ihre Leidenschaft und Ihr Engagement haben uns vorangebracht. Ohne Sie wäre das KIT nicht das, was es heute ist.

Auch nach Ihrer offiziellen Zeit am KIT ist es uns ein besonderes Anliegen mit Ihnen in Kontakt zu bleiben. Ganz gleich, wo Sie leben – ob noch in der Region Karlsruhe, in Deutschland oder im Ausland – Sie sind weiterhin Teil der „KIT-Familie“. Die Qualifikation, die Sie am KIT oder seinen Vorgängereinrichtungen erworben haben, hat Ihren beruflichen Weg mitgeprägt. Was Sie als Alumnae und Alumni miteinander verbindet, ist der Blick zurück auf ähnliche oder sogar gemeinsame Erlebnisse.

Heute bilden Sie als Ehemalige Brücken und schließen Lücken: zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft, zwischen Berufspraxis und Theorie, zwischen Ihrem Lebensmittelpunkt und dem Campus und – um es ganz einfach zu sagen – zwischen Menschen.

Davon kann nun auch die nächste Generation profitieren: Geben Sie Ihre Erfahrungen und Ihr Wissen an die Studierenden von heute weiter, unterstützen Sie Promovierende als Mentorin oder Mentor, geben Sie Ihre fachliche Expertise als KIT Industry Experts weiter oder bringen Sie Alumnae und Alumni an Ihrem Standort zusammen. Nutzen Sie die vielen Angebote des Alumni-Netzwerks und werden Sie Teil einer großen und starken Gemeinschaft.

Bleiben Sie uns weiterhin verbunden und prägen Sie Ihre Alma Mater mit.
Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Ihr
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Holger Hanselka
Präsident des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie

Portrait Hanselka